Government Commitments

Government Commitments to Truth and Reconciliation

BCAFN Welcomes BC Cabinet Restructuring and New Members

December 8, 2022

(Lheidli T’enneh Territory, Prince George, BC) — BC Assembly of First Nations (BCAFN) welcomes the new BC government cabinet members announced today by Premier David Eby. First Nations leaders have strongly emphasized the imperative for the government to partner with First Nations on several obligations and priorities and this cabinet is a positive step forward to advance this work. As governments move further down the path toward reconciliation, they must build good relations with First Nations and address inequities that hinder the development of a strong and resilient province and nation.

“I would like to congratulate the newly appointed ministers on Premier Eby’s government cabinet, and I look forward to working with all cabinet members as we continue to tackle the urgent economic and social issues confronting First Nations across the province,” stated Regional Chief Terry Teegee. “Also, I’m pleased to see the creation of the two new ministries, the Ministry of Housing and the Ministry of Emergency Management and Climate Readiness, areas that deeply affect Indigenous peoples and that have long required more intense attention and resources. I feel confident these appointments will carry all British Columbians forward in a good and strong direction.”

British Columbia and Canada are poised for a cascade of transformative change at this critical juncture as governments work on the meaningful implementation of Indigenous human rights as described in the United Nations on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Achieving this change will happen through partnerships based on respect and proper government-to-government relationships. Premier Eby’s appointments move the province forward positively as First Nations and all British Columbians face challenging times.


For further information, contact: Annette Schroeter, Communications Officer. Phone: (778) 281-1655.