Background Content

Government Commitments to Truth and Reconciliation

Inuit Nunangat Declaration

February 9, 2017

Inuit Nunangat which means “the place where Inuit live” in Inuktitut, is comprised of four regions:

  • Inuvialuit Settlement Region (Northwest Territories)
  • Nunavut
  • Nunavik (Northern Quebec) and
  • Nunatsiavut (Northern Labrador)

On February 9, 2017, Inuit regional leaders, ITK and the Prime Minister signed a historic Inuit Nunangat Declaration which created a permanent, bilateral Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee to guide the work on areas of shared priority including land claims agreements, Arctic Policy, housing, Inuktut revitalization and promotion, health and wellness, and reconciliation measures. Budget 2017 includes funding to support this body as a bilateral mechanism between the federal government and ITK.

The Committee includes the Prime Minister and select federal ministers:

  • the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs
  • the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health
  • the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • President Natan Obed on behalf of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Chair/CEO Duane Smith on behalf of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
  • President Aluki Kotierk on behalf of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
  • President Jobie Tukkiapik on behalf of Makivik Corporation and President Johannes Lampe on behalf of the Nunatsiavut Government
  • The Committee also includes the presidents of the National Inuit Youth Council, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, and the Inuit Circumpolar Council Canada as observers.