Background Content

Call to Action # 15: Language and Culture (13-17)

The Glendon Declaration

December 8, 2016

The Crown and Her Federal Government in enacting an Indigenous Language Act must create an Office of the Commissioners of Indigenous Languages, with three national Indigenous Language Commissioners, one for the First Nations, one for the Inuit, and one for the Métis, with an ancillary staff complement comparable to that of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, and a Commissioner’s representative located in each Indigenous Nation and/or Territory to assist with the carrying out of the intent of the Indigenous Language Act.