Language and Culture (13-17): Background Content

Indigenous Languages in Canada

January 1, 1970


Indigenous Languages

More than 70 Aboriginal languages were reported in the 2016 Census. These languages can be divided into 12 language families:

  • Algonquian languages
  • Inuit languages
  • Athabaskan languages
  • Siouan languages
  • Salish languages
  • Tsimshian languages
  • Wakashan languages
  • Iroquoian languages
  • Michif
  • Tlingit
  • Kutenai andHaida

Table 1 below identifies Aboriginal identity population who can speak an Aboriginal language, by language family, main languages within these families, and main provincial and territorial concentrations, Canada, 2016

Other Background Content By Theme

Canadian Association of Applied Linguistics

Read more

Building Reconciliation Forum

Read more

The Glendon Declaration

Read more